博纳精选

April 08, 2021

特别访问:投资与集体出售部门主管Tracy Goh

特别访问:投资与集体出售部门主管Tracy Goh

房地产交易活动,尤其是集体出售,似乎是人们非常感兴趣的话题,往往能登上新加坡的头条新闻。许多人会回想起 2017 年和 2018 年间一系列成功的集体出售项目,随后 2018 年 7 月的一轮降温措施使集体出售市场势头骤然停止。

随着近期房屋销售的强劲和市场情绪的复苏,博纳精选向投资与集体出售部门主管Tracy Goh了解了她对集体出售市场前景的看法,以及对判断发展项目是否已到了集体出售的成熟时机的见解。

联系我们以了解更多有关集体出售的信息。


1. 请问您从事房地产事业多久了?最喜欢集体出
售与房地产投资的哪些方面?


TRACY:我从1990 年开始就从事房地产业务,并在一家房地产代理公司担任了 20 年的主要执行官(Key Executive Officer)。多年来,我对这个行业的热忱未减,全因我的个人使命所驱动,那就是我必须为我的客户增值,好让我的服务与众不同。对我来说, “增值” 的意义就是教导我的客户在适当的时机投资增值潜力较好的房产。我相信,如果我能帮助他们赚取上百万的收益,自然而然,我就能确保自己在业界得以站稳脚跟,持续经营我的事业,并获取更多老客户推荐的新客户。

在 1990 年代,租金回报被视为一个很好的投资策略,总租金收益可高达 8%。那个时候的利息很高,平均每年约为 5%。虽然赚取高租金收入是一个极好的策略,但随着我们从 2002 年开始进入新的十年,租金收益开始下降,平均利息大约在3%左右。这个策略执行起来越来越困难,所以打从2009年开始,我便建议我的客户要投资有集体出售潜力的产业,因为该发展项目一旦得以通过集体出售活动成功售出,他们将会获得相当可观的利润。每当客户从集体出售活动中获益,我对集体出售相关事业那股热忱就会变得更浓烈,至今依然如此。


2. 您是如何判断发展项目是否具备集体出售的潜力?
 

TRACY:这个问题其实很难回答。我曾经在2017 年和 2018 年期间开办集体出售相关课程,在教导学生“什么能被认定为集体出售潜力”时,我就花了七个小时来回答这个问题。参加课程的人开始了解围绕整体出售活动的迷思,比方说如果房产非常的老旧,就一定具备集体出售的潜力——这当然不是真的。

在评估房产的集体出售潜力时,我们必须了解的第一件事就是发展项目目前的总建筑楼面(Gross Floor Area,简称 GFA)。令人惊讶的是,一些旧项目的总建筑楼面已到达了面积顶限,因此没有集体出售的潜力。还有一些项目从私宅/公寓分区,重新划为有地住宅分区,这就限制了项目的重建发展。

在我们所有的分析中,我们基本上是在研究当前的土地价格,以及一个项目在今天的土地价格下是否具有集体出售的潜力。许多发展项目集体出售不成功,因为业主对土地价格有很高的期望,他们不明白地段的价格必须具备一定的吸引力,才能引起发展商的兴趣。我相信,有不少业主的态度都是想以地段在未来的土地价格来开出售价


3. 防止集体出售取得成功的最大障碍是什么?
 

TRACY: 我认为是业主对于家的依恋。对一部分业主来说,他们的房子有很大的情感价值,也许这是他们的婚姻之家。这些业主根本不受集体出售的收益所打动,无论你说什么都不会改变他们的决定。

业主对价格的期待则是另一个挑战。一些业主想要的价格非常高,这肯定会导致集体出售项目失去吸引力。


4. 虽然我们正与疫情对抗,但新私宅销售旺盛,且市场未出售的单位存量持续少。发展商是否正在积极考虑补充土量?而他们将采取态度会有多积极/谨慎?


TRACY:从 2018 年 9 月到 2020 年 11 月这段时间,发展商总共花了超过 S$5.1 亿收购了14个住宅地段和住宅与一楼商业地段。这代表他们对土地有需求。以我们与发展商的互动来看,我认为他们正在四处寻找新地段,但态度依旧谨慎,对价格过高的集体出售地段或许没那么感兴趣。

确实,去年的新私人住宅销售强劲。这个疫情带给每一个人的影响并不平等。尽管许多新加坡人被裁员和/或减薪,但也有一些买家在财务上应付得很好,并且极有可能抢购了新推出的项目,进而协助支撑去年的房价。另一点需要注意的是,组屋提升者也协助促进销售量。许多人出售了他们的政府组屋,并升级为转售私宅或这是新私宅和有地房产。因此,我认为新加坡在这场疫情中表现出色,这在以前的任何其他经济衰退时期都是前所未有的。之前的经济危机对房价产生了影响,但去年房价保持的很好。

新加坡政府应对疫情的措施也帮助稳定了市场。协助企业、保护就业、延迟房屋贷款期限等多项举措给市场带来了很大的缓解,因此没有人陷入恐慌而低价抛售房产。此外,疫情的有效控制和新加坡经济的逐步复苏也带来了乐观情绪,人们对进入楼市充满信心。

我当然相信,发展商不再对房地产市场感到悲观,而是谨慎乐观地认为,他们的业务在前进的道路上会继续保持良好的表现。因此,我相信价格合理的集体出售项目还是会找到买家。如果今年有机会看到至少S$20亿的额外资金用来收购土地,我不会感到惊讶。


5. 您如何看待 2021 年新加坡集体出售市场的发展方向?
 

TRACY:最简单的投资方式就是跟随市场的流动很明显,房地产市场表现得比较好的细分市场主要是大众化且负担得起的市场;也就是所有的地区里,尤其是其他中央区(RCR)和中央区外(OCR),有新项目以经济实惠的价格推出的地方。其他中央区和中央区外每平方英尺的价格分
别低于 $2,300 和 $1,800,相当好承担。对于核心中央区(CCR)项目,如果它们能够以低于每平方英尺 S$2,800 的价格推出,我们应该会看得到大致良好的销售量。从这个角度来看,其他中央区要价低于平均容积率每平方英尺(psf ppr)S$1,200 的集体出售项目,以及中央区外要价低于平均容积率每平方英尺S$1,000的集体出售项目,应该会引起一定的兴趣。

至于那些最终售价接近每平方英尺 S$3,500 及以上的高端奢侈市场,我相信当我国边境重新开放且富裕买家返回新加坡投资时,购买需求将很快恢复(即使他们已经需要为购买住宅产业支付高额的 20% 额外买家印花税ABSD)。我预计这个高端市场很快就会出现。

寻找适合的投资机会是有非常多的流动性。新加坡应对冠病疫情并及时采取措施支持经济的能力给许多投资者留下了深刻的印象。此外,新加坡治安良好、拥有稳定的政治环境、经商便利并且流程透明。因此,去年在新加坡设立家庭办公室的数量创下了记录,而我相信这个趋势将持续到今年。一些流入新加坡的资金可能会进入房地产领域,无论是商业还是住宅领域。总体而言,我预计未来几年房地产业将继续有良好的表现,而比较讽刺的是,随着资金流入新加坡,房地产业的良好表现是由疫情所进一步加强的。

新加坡房地产市场的前景相对乐观,一系列降温措施将继续确保市场以可持续的方式运行,避免出现过热和萧条的情况。因此,在某种程度上,降温措施实际上为发展商带来了更稳定的环境。展望未来,我认为发展商不害怕买地,他们只需要管理好成本,以负担得起的价格推出项目,并创造出对买家超级有吸引力的房产。好的格局和可使用空间都是可以推动人们升级到一个新家的理由,来满足他们对工作、生活、娱乐和招待他人的一切需求。

 

联系我们以了解更多有关集体出售机会的信息。

 

 

更多博纳精选

Upcoming Events


PWS Masterclass | 18-19 May 2024
VIEW EVENT DETAIL
The Last Chance To Capture The Supply Gap
VIEW EVENT DETAIL

PropNex Picks

April 08, 2021

Special Interview: Tracy Goh, Head Of Investment And Collective Sales

SPECIAL INTERVIEW: Tracy Goh, Head of Investment and Collective Sales

Real estate deals tend to make news headlines in Singapore and those around collective sales in particular, appear to garner lots of interest. Many would recall the flurry of successful en bloc sales in 2017 and 2018, before another round of cooling measures in July 2018 virtually grounded the collective sale market momentum to a halt.

With the strong home sales and recovery in market sentiment recently, PropNex Picks speaks to Tracy Goh, Head of Investment and Collective Sales to find out about her thoughts on the collective sale market prospects and insights on what makes a development ripe for en bloc.

Contact us to find out more about collective sale opportunities.


1. How long have you been in the industry and what do you enjoy most about Collective Sale and Real Estate Investment?


TRACY: I have been in the real estate business since 1990 and was a Key Executive Officer of a real estate agency for 20 years. Over the years, my passion in this business is driven by a simple mission, and that is: I have to add value to my clients to differentiate my service from the rest. To me, “Adding Value” is defined as educating my clients to invest in properties that have a good potential to appreciate in value in due time. I believe that if I can help them make millions, naturally I will stay relevant and stay in business and will have plenty of referrals.

In the 1990s, rental returns were a great investment strategy; one could get as high as 8% for gross rental income. Back then, interest rates were high, averaging at about 5% per annum. Though a high rental income was a fabulous strategy but it started to drop as we entered into a new decade from year 2002 onwards, where the interest rate averaged at around 3%. The high rental returns strategy was getting difficult to execute and from year 2009 onwards, I recommended my clients mostly to invest in “en bloc-able” properties, where they could realise a handsome profit should the development gets sold successfully via collective sale. And that is when my interest in collective sale intensified and it is still going strong today.


2. How would you assess if a development has en bloc potential?

TRACY: This question is actually quite hard to answer; in my en bloc course which I used to conduct in year 2017 and 2018, it took me seven hours to answer that question in teaching my students on “what is considered as en bloc potential”. Those who went through the course started to understand the myths of en bloc such as if the property is very old, it definitely has en bloc potential – which is certainly untrue.

The first thing that we need to find out is the existing gross floor area (GFA) of a project. Surprisingly, some of the old projects’ GFA have been maximised, hence, there is no en bloc potential. And some other projects have been rezoned from apartments/condos to landed zoning which limits redevelopment.

In all our analysis, we are basically studying the current land prices and whether a particular project has collective sale potential at today’s land prices. Many sites have failed to en bloc because owners have high expectations of land prices and they do not understand that the site has to be attractively priced in order to interest developers. I believe many owners have the attitude of selling at future prices.


3. What is the biggest hurdle to a successful en bloc sale?

TRACY: I would say it is the attachment to their homes. For some of these owners, their home represents great sentimental value – perhaps it is their matrimonial home - and they are not motivated by en bloc proceeds at all; nothing you say will move them to agree to sell.

Price expectation is the other challenge. Some owners want a very high price and that will certainly make the en bloc project look unattractive.


4. Despite the pandemic, new home sales have been robust and the unsold stock in the market has been dwindling. Are developers actively looking at replenishing land and how aggressively/cautious will they likely be?


TRACY: Developers spent more than $5.1 billion in acquiring 14 residential and residential and commercial at 1st storey sites since Sept 2018 to Nov 2020. This showed that they have appetite for land. Based on our interactions with developers, I would say they are looking around for sites but they remain prudent and are not likely to be keen on overpriced en bloc sites.

Indeed, new home sales were robust last year. The pandemic has not affected everyone equally. Although many Singaporeans have been retrenched and/or suffered a pay cut, there are also buyers who did financially well and they are likely the ones who snapped up new launch projects, which helped to support home prices last year. Another point to note is that the HDB upgraders have also helped to boost sales. Many sold their flat and upgraded to a residential resale or new launches and landed property. So, I would say that Singapore did amazingly well in this pandemic which was unseen in any other recessions previously. Previous crises had an impact on home prices, but last year home prices held up well.

The Singapore government’s response to the pandemic has also helped to steady the market. Various measures such as helping companies, protecting jobs, and deferring mortgage loans payment gave the market a lot of relief and therefore nobody panicked and sold cheap. In addition, the effective control of the pandemic and gradual recovery in the Singapore economy also give rise to optimism and people are confident to enter the property market.

I certainly believe that developers are no longer pessimistic about the real estate market but rather they are cautiously optimistic that their business will continue to do well as they navigate the way forward. Hence, I believe that collective sale projects that are rightly priced will find buyers. I would not be surprised that this year 2021 could see at least another $2 billion to be spent in acquiring land sites.


5. Where do you see the Singapore collective sale market heading in 2021?

TRACY: The easiest way to invest is to follow the flow of the market. It is obvious that the real estate market is doing well in segments that are mostly mass market and affordable; meaning in all areas, especially Rest of Central Region (RCR) and Outside Central Region (OCR) where you see new projects launching at an affordable quantum and the psf price is digestible at less than $2,300 psf and $1,800 psf respectively. For the Core Central Region (CCR) projects, if they can launch at less than $2,800 psf, we should see good take up rates generally. From that perspective, collective sale sites that are asking for less than $1,200 psf per plot ratio (psf ppr) for RCR and under $1,000 psf ppr for OCR land sties should garner some interest.

For the high-end luxury market where the end selling prices are closer to $3,500 psf and above, I believe that the buying demand will return soon when the borders re-open and affluent buyers return to invest their money in Singapore (even if they have to pay a hefty 20% ABSD for residential property purchase). I foresee this high-end market will pick very soon.

There is a lot of liquidity looking for the right investment opportunities. Singapore’s ability to manage the pandemic and roll out timely measures to support the economy has impressed many investors. In addition, Singapore is safe, has a stable political environment, ease of doing business and transparent processes. Hence, a record number of family offices have been set up in Singapore last year and I believe the trend will continue into this year. Some of the capital inflows coming to Singapore could find their way into the real estate sector, be it the commercial or residential segment. Overall, I expect real estate will continue to do well in these coming years, further strengthened ironically by the pandemic as funds flow into Singapore.

The Singapore property market has a relatively positive outlook, and the slew of cooling measures will continue to ensure the market moves in a sustainable manner, avoiding a boom and bust scenario. So, in a way, you could say the cooling measures actually led to a more stable environment for developers. Looking ahead, I think developers are not afraid to buy land, they only need to manage costs well, launch the projects at an affordable quantum, and create a product that is super appealing to buyers - with good layout and functional space to give home owners a compelling reason to upgrade to a new home that can give them everything they need to work, live, play and entertain.

Contact us to find out more about collective sale opportunities.

More PropNex Picks

Upcoming Events


PWS Masterclass
VIEW EVENT DETAIL
3 KEY FACTORS TO A.C.E. YOUR ASSET PROGRESSION LEGACY
VIEW EVENT DETAIL