博纳精选

February 08, 2022

好的估价师不论睡觉、做梦、思考都和房地产有关

博纳房地产领跑者系列
本期焦点人物:博纳产业估值总监 Joseph Gan

博纳研究与编辑部

 

本期的特别访问,博纳研究与编辑部采访了估值总监 Joseph Gan,他在房地产估值业务方面拥有超过三十年的经验。 Joseph 于 2019 年加入博纳以设立公司的估值业务。他在短短几年内将团队发展起来,并将博纳置于几家银行的估值师小组中,而这一切绝非易事。

Joseph 对房地产估价充满热情,并认为这份工作相当有满足感,尤其当他在为房产进行估值、分析市场趋势以得出公允价值,以及在工作过程中帮助人们获得他们梦寐以求的家。他指出,一名好的估值师需要 “全方位感受” 房地产市场。

和我们一同发掘让估值师在人群中脱颖而出的好特质,以及Joseph工作时的有趣回忆,当中包括被狗追逐咬伤的经历。

1. 请和我们分享您在房地产估值方面的经验,以及您在博纳担任的角色中最精彩的部分

自1990 年从新加坡国立大学 (NUS)毕业以来,我一直是一名估价师。这一做就做了足足 32 年,从事着许多人眼里平凡而无聊的工作——看看房子并为它们贴上价格标签。然而,每栋房产都是独一无二的,即使它们可能彼此相邻。每一次的估值工作都必须经过详细的评估过程,才能得出一个被视为公平公正的市场价值。不论是组屋单位或优质洋房,这个过程大致相同。归根结底,估值师必须能够在受到挑战时,捍卫他对价值的观念和判断。

在我的估值师生涯中,我有很多机会了解不同业主翻新房屋的各种选择,并且结识了各种各样的业主——每个人都有属于自己珍贵资产的故事。对我来说,在博纳最令人兴奋和最具挑战性的角色和任务,就是从零开始建立一个完整的估值部门。就新加坡的房地产代理业务而言,博纳一直是家喻户晓的名字,是我国最大的代理机构,也依然在增长。

然而,这些年来,博纳从未有过估值部门。拥有我们自己的估值团队一直是管理层的愿望。能以估值先驱的职责为博纳建立这一咨询业务领域,我感到非常荣幸。我在 2019 年 5 月加入公司,现在唯一的遗憾是没有早点加入公司。随着我们努力与公司的代理业务取得一样的成功,我能看到博纳估值部门正在实现新的里程碑。

2. 您的团队不仅提供抵押贷款估值,还提供收购、特别审计审查和首次公开募股等企业活动。估值为什么如此重要,并应该间隔多久进行?

博纳估值部门仍处于起步阶段。在我写这篇回复时,我们自 2019 年 5 月成立以来还不到三年。当务之急是与银行和金融机构建立良好的工作关系,加入他们的估值小组,以便我们可以代表他们的客户进行抵押贷款估值。既然我们已经成功进入各大银行的估值小组(我必须强调这是前所未有的壮举。没有其他新成立的估值机构可以在如此短的时间内进入新加坡的六家主要银行),接下来重点领域是发展我们在企业估值方面的业务。

每个资产都有它的价值,而重要的是这个价值必须由与资产和所有者没有利益冲突的第三方,进行独立评估后得出。我们无法保证每项估值在市场上持有的时间能有多长,价值取决于房地产市场的波动和情绪。然而,通常在审计审查中,审计师会要求对其客户的资产组合进行一年一度的评估。

3. 一名好的估价师应该要具备哪些特质?

一名好的估价师必须对房地产市场有很实在的“全方位感觉”。他或她在睡觉、做梦、思考时都要和房地产相关。当然,这个人必须实时了解房地产新闻、政策、规划细节,以便在工作过程中,能在全面了解整体房地产市场的情况下,展示并得出公平、合理和客观的价值判断。

估值师依靠可比较的销售证据来推算价值,因为这是新加坡最常见的房产估值方法。如今,这些数据在许多平台和网站上都很容易取得。一名好的估值师的区别在于,他或她如何能够处理这些数据,去进行研究分析,并形成公平、可靠、可辩护的价值判断。

另一方面,当缺乏类似的可比证据时,优秀的估值师能够拿到位置较远的交易信息,并就位置、年龄、便利设施等方面进行必要的调整,以获取一个公平的市场价值。需要注意的是:没有好的可比证据并不意味资产没有价值。每个资产都有价值,一个好的估价师必须能够获取一切可用的数据并得出一个公平的价值判断。

4. 科技扰乱了不少行业作息。 数码科技将在多大程度上改变估值业务,而我们如何才能这些变化中保持优势?

估值一直是一门艺术,而不是科学。 它始终是一种对价值的判断,从来没有一个对或错的答案。 然而,近年来,越来越多人尝试通过数码科技,将估值转化为一门科学,并采用“电子估值”作为估值方法。

尽管我们必须在这个全新的现代化时代拥抱数码科技,但专业估值的实践永远不可能完全自动化并在没有人为因素的情况下执行。 我们不能依靠像无人机这样的技术来进行现场勘察,尤其是所有有地房产还有更复杂和特别的地产。 实际的现场检查依旧必须由合格的估价师进行,好让估价师在现场可以精准的确定和评估每个地产的属性。

5. 在工作过程中获得的最有价值或最难忘的经历是什么?

作为一名从业超过 30 年的估价师,最有成就感的时候,莫过于知道自己的房产估价决定,已经帮助某些人成功获得他们的梦想家园和珍贵资产。当你知道银行和金融机构根据你对抵押房产的价值判断,天天贷出巨额资金时,也会有这种难以形容的自豪感。

至于难忘的经历,这几年来有不少。其中之一就是拥有为新加坡殡仪馆(The Singapore Casket)、新加坡佛牙寺龙华院(The Buddha Tooth Relic Temple)和渔港鱼批发市场(The Fishery Port Fish Markets)等特别地产估值的机会。其他难忘的经历包括被狗追逐咬伤的那几次,为诡异(且盛传闹鬼)的房子估值,以及与业主发生不愉快的情况。


立即与Joseph联络,了解更多博纳房地产估价服务的信息。

更多博纳精选

博纳精选
博纳将成为有地住宅和 GCB 市场的权威

1月 26日, 2022年

博纳精选
集体出售与SERS的差异

1月 24日, 2022年

PropNex Picks

February 08, 2022

A Good Valuer Has To Sleep, Dream, Think About Properties

PropNex Property Frontrunners Series Featuring Joseph Gan, Director of Valuation, PropNex Realty
By PropNex Research and editorial

In this special interview segment, PropNex Picks speaks to Director of Valuation Joseph Gan who has more than three decades of experience in the real estate valuation business. Joseph joined PropNex in 2019 to establish the firm’s valuation business and in a few short years, he has grown the team and placed PropNex on several banks’ panel of valuers – not an easy feat.

Joseph is passionate about real estate valuation and finds the job highly satisfying – especially in evaluating a property, analysing market trends to derive a fair value, and helping people own their dream home in the course of his work. A good valuer needs to have an “all-round feel” of the property market, he notes.

Read on to find out about the positive traits that make a valuer stand out from the crowd and some interesting memories from his work, including being chased and bitten by dogs.

1. Tell us about your experience in the real estate valuation business and what is most exciting about your role at PropNex?

I have been a valuer ever since graduating from the National University of Singapore (NUS) in 1990. That’s a good 32 years doing what many would consider a mundane and boring job - just looking at properties and putting a price tag on them. However, no two properties are similar, even if they may be located next to each other, so every valuation exercise has to go through a detailed evaluation process in order to arrive at a value deemed to be a fair market value. The property could be an HDB flat or a Good Class Bungalow, but the process is similar. At the end of the day, the valuer must be able to defend his opinion of values when challenged.

During my course of work as a valuer, I have ample opportunities to appreciate how different property owners would choose to renovate their homes and I get to meet all kinds of owners - each has their own story to tell about their prized assets. The most exciting and challenging role for me here in PropNex is building an entire valuation division from scratch. PropNex has been a household name as far as the real estate agency business in Singapore is concerned, being the largest agency in town and still growing.

However, all these years PropNex has never had a valuation department. It has always been the management’s desire to have our own valuation team and I am very honoured, to say the least, to be given this huge role to be a pioneer valuer in setting up this area of consultancy business in PropNex. I joined the firm in May 2019 and my only regret now is that I did not come on board sooner. I can only see PropNex valuation division achieving new milestones as we strive to be as successful as its agency business.

2. Your team offers not just mortgage valuation but also for corporate exercises like acquisitions, special audit reviews, and initial public offering. Why is valuation important and how frequently should valuation be done?

The PropNex valuation division is still in its infant stage. As I write, we are around less than three years since its formation in May 2019. The immediate priority is to establish a good working relationship with banks and financial institutions, getting on board their valuation panels so that we can carry out mortgage valuations on behalf of their customers. Now that we have managed to gain admission onto the major banks’ valuation panels, (an unprecedented feat I must stress. No other newly formed valuation outfit can be admitted onto six major banks in Singapore in such a short period of time), the next area of focus is to develop our corporate valuation side of the business.

Every property has a value and it is important that this value is derived by an independent appraisal from a third party who has no conflict of interest with the properties and owners. We cannot put a time frame how long each valuation can hold in the market. The values depend on the volatility of the property market and sentiments. However, usually for audit reviews, the auditors will require an annual assessment of their clients’ property portfolio.

3. What are the attributes of a good valuer?

A good valuer has to have a good “all-round feel” of the property market. He or she has to sleep, dream, think about properties. Naturally, the individual has to be kept abreast with real estate news, policies, planning details so that during the course of his work, the valuer is able to demonstrate and derived fair, sound and objective opinions of values after taking a holistic view of the entire property market.

Valuers rely on comparable sale evidences to derive values because that is the most common approach to value properties in Singapore. In modern times, such data are readily available on many platforms and websites. What distinguishes a good valuer is how he or she is able to take all these data, study them, analyse them and form an opinion of value which is fair, supportable and defensible.

On the flip side, when there is an absence of similar comparable evidences, a good valuer is able to obtain sales transactions further away and do the necessary adjustments in terms of location, age, amenities etc. and derive a fair market value. It is important to note: not having good comparable evidence does not mean no value. Every property has a value and a good valuer must be able to take whatever data that is available and form a fair opinion of value.

4. Technology has disrupted many industries. To what extent will digital technology change the valuation business and how can we stay ahead of these changes?

Valuation has always been an art rather than a science. It is always been an opinion of values, never a right or wrong answer. However, in recent times, more and more people are trying to convert valuation into a science by using digital technology and adopting “e-valuation” as an approach to valuation.

As much as we must embrace digital technology in this new modern age and era, professional valuation practice can never be fully automated and performed without the human element. We cannot rely on technology like drones to carry out site inspections, especially so for all landed properties and more complicated and specialised properties. An actual physical site inspection must still be done by a qualified appraiser so that the attributes of each property can be accurately determined and appreciated by the valuer on site.

5. What have been the most rewarding or memorable experience you’ve garnered in the course of your work?

The most rewarding feeling as a valuer for more than three decades must be knowing that your decision in penning down a value on a property has helped someone out there secure their dream home and prized asset. There is also this indescribable sense of pride when you know that banks and financial institutions are lending huge amount of money daily based on your opinion of value for the mortgaged properties.

As for memorable experience, there are quite a few all these years. One of which must be to have the opportunity to value specialised properties like The Singapore Casket, The Buddha Tooth Relic Temple, and The Fishery Port Fish Markets. Other memorable experiences would include the several occasions I have been chased and bitten by dogs, valuing eerie (rumoured to be haunted) houses, and encountering unpleasant situations with owners.


Contact Joseph to find out more about PropNex’s real estate valuation services.

More PropNex Picks

Upcoming Events


PWS Masterclass
VIEW EVENT DETAIL
3 KEY FACTORS TO A.C.E. YOUR ASSET PROGRESSION LEGACY
VIEW EVENT DETAIL