博纳精选

November 16, 2022

外籍人士购买新加坡房需付30% ABSD,究竟该进还是退?

著:黄秀瑩


外国买家对新加坡私宅地产抱有莫大的兴趣,其实不足为奇。

新加坡的繁荣昌盛、高效率和良好治安让我国享尽国际盛誉,并因此广受全球投资者的关注。就稳定的政治环境及和平的政治领导权交接而言,我国有着长远的好记录。我国动员全国人民和国家资源去对抗冠病疫情的能力,并由此成功过渡至与冠病共存的日常,只会让投资者的信心有增无减。

虽然本地居民买家一直占我国私宅购房者的绝大多数,但在 2011 年 12 月推出额外买家印花税(ABSD)后,外籍买家在新加坡楼市的参与度急剧下滑。

有了外籍买家 10% ABSD 率的新限制,外国人购买非有地私宅的比例,从2011年占总销售额(新私宅及二手市场)的近 19%,下降到2012年的 6.9%(见图 1)。

自 ABSD 首次推出约 11 年后,作为调节本地楼市热度的降温措施的一部分,ABSD税率于 2013 年 1 月、2018 年 7 月和 2021 年 12 月经过三次上调。截稿前,外国买家购买首个及以上的新加坡私宅,所需支付的ABSD税率为30%。

冠病疫情带来的封城和旅游限制等严格的防疫措施,潜在买家到访新加坡购房的行程受影响,导致近年来外籍人士在本地楼市的参与度进一步下降。截至 2022 年 8 月,外籍买家占非有地私宅交易总量的仅仅 4.4%。

图1:在新加坡购买非有地私宅(新盘与二手房)的外籍人士比例  

来源:博纳研究、市区重建局房地产资讯系统(数据截至2022年8月31日)


随着旅游限制放宽,一些来自国外的潜在买家可能会重拾前来新加坡买房的想法。以下是评估外国人士该不该为了购买本地私宅而支付高额 ABSD 的一些考虑因素。

A) 新加坡为投资避风港

新加坡位处战略性地理位置,所在的增长区域是不少企业和投资者都会前去寻找亚洲和东南亚投资机会的地方。我国是个充满活力且繁盛的全球商业和金融中心,具备了优惠税率及亲商政策。

新加坡的主要吸引力在于我国强大的治理制度和稳定的政治环境,国家领导层的权力交接往往平静而和平。我国还具备有效的法治制度及透明的监管框架和流程,为买家提供清晰的视野及保护。

除此之外,我国也没有资产盈利税(Capital Gains Tax)或遗产税(Estate Duty),而这有利于房地产投资。

B) 稳定的货币和经济

新加坡稳健的经济基本面和坚挺的货币对买家来说是种保证,他们所买的本地房产将长期保值。此外,新加坡政府也极力确保国家能在瞬息万变的全球环境中保持竞争力和相关性,不断推动创新、吸引外国投资和培养增长领域的人才。

C) 完善的住宅房地产市场

新加坡拥有完善的房地产市场,除了有信誉良好且可靠的开发商,更以良好稳健的本地房屋需求为基础。在新加坡有利于吸引外国直接投资额(foreign direct investment)和全球顶尖人才的政策下,住宅租赁市场也很活跃。

房地产市场一直保有优良记录,往往会在经历危机后逐渐走强。根据市区重建局的房地产价格指数,在过去 20 年中,从 2002 年第一季到 2022 年第二季,整体私宅价格上涨了 118%。

D) 基础设施与城市更新

新加坡拥有优良的交通基础设施,是世界上交通最发达的国家之一。据新加坡经济发展局指出,樟宜机场为 100 多家航空公司服务,飞往全球约 100 个国家和地区。在国内,公共交通基础设施发达,地铁和公共交通服务网络可靠且完善。据海峡时报(The Straits Time)2020 年 10 月的一篇报道,新加坡的公共交通系统已被美国旅游网站 Far & Wide 评为世界第一,击败了伦敦和香港等其他城市。

除了运作优良且便利的交通系统外,新加坡政府还制定了长期计划,通过土地用途的审视评估和振兴市区来规划国家发展。一些精彩绝伦的未来项目包括南部濒水区(Greater Southern Waterfront)、裕廊湖区(Jurong Lake District)、巴耶利峇空军基地(Paya Lebar Air Base)搬迁后的重建工程以及樟宜机场的扩建。这些新的发展和城市更新不仅会为全岛各个区域增添活力,并且会在支撑房地产价值方面发挥作用。

E) 教育、文化及语言

新加坡以高质量的教育体系而闻名,并在数学和科学教育上获得很高的评价。我国还有许多国际学校,旅居新加坡的外国人可以让他们的孩子入学。由于熟悉新加坡的文化和语言,包括中国公民在内的许多外国人在本地也能过着相当舒适的生活。

F) 转售市场还有其他选择

新私人公寓有着较高的开盘价格,并因此而无法承担新公寓项目30% ABSD的外籍买家,他们能转向转售市场寻找价格较低又能符合自己需求的其他房屋选择。转售市场中的房屋价位较低,这意味着他们所需支付的ABSD相对较低。比方说,价值 S$200 万新盘单位的 30% ABSD 相当于 S$600,000,但价值S$150 万的转售房屋,ABSD则为 S$450,000。如果新盘价格超出了预算,欢迎咨询博纳房屋中介,了解转售市场中的潜在购房机会。

G) 自由贸易协定 (FTA) 下的 ABSD 减免

根据新加坡与各个国家的自由贸易协定,在印花税方面,某些国家的国民或永久居民将能获得与新加坡公民相同的待遇。这就包括冰岛(Iceland)、列支敦士登(Liechtenstein)、挪威(Norway)或瑞士(Switzerland)的国民和永久居民,以及美国(United States of America)国民。与来自其他国家的外籍买家不同,这些人在新加坡购买第一套房子时就无需支付 ABSD。

外籍人士购买私人公寓项目中的单位不受任何限制,但在新加坡本岛上购买有地住宅时则需要相关批准。不妨查阅博纳官网上的房源搜索潜在的购买机会,并联系博纳销售员,助您通过房地产投资来增加个人财富。

成为 PropNex Friends 会员,及时获取房地产趋势、研究报告等内容,并享受独家会员优惠。

更多博纳精选

Upcoming Events


PWS Masterclass
VIEW EVENT DETAIL
2023 vs 2024 vs 2025 - How do the Latest GLS Land bids Affect Property Prices Moving Forward & Which one is your Safest Bet?
VIEW EVENT DETAIL

PropNex Picks

November 16, 2022

Should Foreign Buyers Be Deterred By The 30% ABSD?

By Wong Siew Ying

That foreign buyers should be keen on private residential properties in Singapore should come as no surprise.

Singapore is usually on the radar of global investors, given its reputation as a prosperous, efficient, and safe country. It has a long track record of political stability and peaceful transition of political leadership. The country’s ability to mobilise its people and resources to tackle the Covid-19 pandemic, making a successful transition to endemic Covid-19 living would only further boost investors’ confidence.

While Singaporean buyers have always made up the majority of private home purchasers in the country, the participation of foreign buyers have seen a sharp decline following the introduction of the additional buyer’s stamp duty (ABSD) in December 2011.

The proportion of non-landed private homes purchased by foreigners plunged from nearly 19% of total sales (new sale and resale) to 6.9% from 2011 to 2012 (see Chart 1), with the new 10% ABSD rate in place for foreign buyers.

Some 11 years on since ABSD was first implemented, the tax rate was further hiked thrice more – in January 2013, July 2018, and December 2021 – as part of a package of measures to cool the residential property market. At the time of writing, the ABSD rate levied on foreign buyers is 30% for the first and subsequent private home purchase in Singapore.

The level of foreigner participation in the private home market fell further in recent years amid the Covid-19 pandemic which led to strict measures, including border closures and travel restrictions that affected prospective buyers from visiting Singapore to transact. In the year-to-end August 2022, foreigners constituted just 4.4% of overall non-landed private residential transactions.

Chart 1: Proportion of Foreigners Who Purchased Non-Landed Private Homes (New Sale and Resale) In Singapore

Source: PropNex Research, URA Realis (data up till 31 August 2022)

With the easing of travel restrictions, some would-be buyers from abroad may be revisiting the idea of picking up a property in Singapore. Here’s a brief list of considerations in assessing whether a foreigner should stump up the ABSD to buy a residential property here.

A) Singapore As A Safe Haven For Investment

Singapore is strategically located in a growth region where companies and investors home in on to tap opportunities in Asia and Southeast Asia. It is a vibrant and thriving global business and financial hub, with favourable tax rate and pro-business policies.

A key attraction of Singapore is its strong governance and the stable political environment, where leadership transition is typically uneventful and peaceful. It also has effective rule of law as well as transparent regulatory framework and processes that provide clarity to and protect buyers.

There is also no capital gains tax nor estate duty which makes it conducive for property investment.

B) Stable Currency And Economy

The country’s sound economic fundamentals and strong currency will assure buyers that their properties will hold their value over the long-term. In addition, the Singapore government is also committed to ensuring the nation remains competitive and relevant in an ever-changing global environment – by pushing for innovation, attracting foreign investments, and nurturing talent in growth sectors.

C) Well-Established Residential Property Market

Singapore has a well-established property market with reputable and reliable developers, underpin by healthy local demand. Residential leasing market is also active amid Singapore’s favourable policies towards attracting foreign direct investments and wooing top global talent to the country.

The property market has a good track record of weathering crises and emerging stronger. Over the last 20 years, the overall private home prices have grown by 118% from Q1 2002 to Q2 2022, as tracked by the Urban Redevelopment Authority’s property price index.

D) Infrastructure And Urban Renewal

Singapore has excellent transport infrastructure and is one of the most connected country in the world. According to EDB Singapore, Changi Airport serves more than 100 airlines flying to about 100 countries and territories globally. Domestically, the public transport infrastructure is well-developed, with a reliable and comprehensive rail and bus network. A report by The Straits Times in October 2020 said that Singapore's public transport system has been ranked top in the world by a US-based travel website, Far & Wide, beating other cities like London and Hong Kong.

Apart from a well-functioning and convenient transport system, the Singapore government also sets out long-term plans to chart the country’s development by reviewing land uses and rejuvenating urban areas. Some of the exciting upcoming developments include the Greater Southern Waterfront, the Jurong Lake District, the redevelopment of the Paya Lebar Air Base site after its relocation, and the expansion of the Changi Airport. Such new developments and urban renewal will not only enliven the various precincts but also play a part in supporting property values.

E) Education, Culture and Language

Singapore is well-known for its high-quality education system, and it is highly rated in the subjects of math and science. There are also numerous international schools where foreigners residing in Singapore can enrol their children for classes. Many foreigners, including Chinese Nationals are also comfortable living in Singapore due to the familiarity with the culture and language here.

F) Alternatives In Resale Market

For foreign buyers who are put off by the 30% ABSD on new condo purchases owing to the higher prices of new condo launches, the resale market may present lower priced alternatives that could suit their needs. The lower quantum of resale properties would mean that they would not have to fork out as much in ABSD payable. For instance, the 30% ABSD on a $2-million new launch unit works out to $600,000, but would be $450,000 for a resale home valued at $1.5 million. Speak to a PropNex salesperson to find out what are the possible buying opportunities in the resale market if the prices of new launches do not fit your budget.

G) ABSD Remission Under Free Trade Agreements (FTAs)

Under the respective FTAs, Nationals or Permanent Residents of the certain countries will be accorded the same Stamp Duty treatment as Singapore Citizens. They are Nationals and Permanent Residents of Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway or Switzerland, as well as Nationals of the United States of America. This means that these individuals would not have to pay ABSD on their first residential property purchase in Singapore, unlike other foreign buyers.

There are no ownership restrictions on foreigners buying a property in a condominium development, but relevant approvals are required to purchase a landed home on Singapore mainland. Check out PropNex’s property listings for potential buying opportunities and contact a PropNex salesperson to find out how you can grow your wealth via property investment.

Sign up as a PropNex Friend and never miss another update on property market insights.

More PropNex Picks

Upcoming Events


PWS Masterclass
VIEW EVENT DETAIL
2023 vs 2024 vs 2025 - How do the Latest GLS Land bids Affect Property Prices Moving Forward & Which one is your Safest Bet?
VIEW EVENT DETAIL